Easy Peezy Marmalade

I have never had the time or the patience to get into making jams and chutneys and all things like that, but this weekend I had no commitments and I wanted to christen my new kitchen with something a bit special. And since I have always liked the idea of the cupboards being filled with jars all with handwritten labels, I thought I would give marmalade a try. It was surprisingly easy, it did take me ages but now looking at my golden jars with slithers of orange suspended in them I get an immense feeling of satisfaction. The house also smells amazing at the moment, you are hit with a warm smell of honey and caramelising sugar each time you come through the door.

Seville Orange season is incredibly short, its starts in early January so make use of them soon because they will be gone before you know it and normal oranges just won’t do for marmalade. This recipe makes enough for an entire year’s breakfasts and the ingredients only cost £4!


Ingredients

1.5kg Seville oranges
2 lemons
2kg granulated sugar
(I also added some ginger to one of my batches, so go crazy and add what you like)

Method

I am going to put a big warning here first, I learnt the hard way that if you have any kind of cut or scratch on your hands put on a load of plasters before you start because if not, prepping these oranges stings like a bitch.

IMG_1746

IMG_1721

  • Peel the fruit, with as much pith as possible. Chop the peel into strips (making them as chunky or as fine as you like) and put in a large pan.
  • Cut the oranges and lemons in half and squeeze out the juice over a bowl, or you can do it the lazy way like me and just use a juicer.
  • Add the squeezed juice and 2.5 litres of water in with the peel and heat until boiling. Then simmer for 2 hours, until the peel is tender. Put a saucer in the fridge to chill, you can use this later to test if your marmalade is ready.
  • Measure the contents of the pan, including the peel, in a jug. Return to the pan and add 450g sugar for every 500ml liquid. Gently heat again until the sugar has dissolved and then whack up the heat so it boils for 15 minutes.
  • Then you can do your test, put some of the marmalade on the cold plate and gentle push a spoon through it, if it wrinkles in front of the spoon its ready!
  • Pour your marmalade into sterilised jars and leave them over night!

IMG_1838
IMG_1833IMG_1753

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 12.27.22

Leave a Reply

