Gingerbread Smoothies

I love baking, that much is obvious since out of the small amount of posts I have done since starting my blog, over half involve food. Christmas baking is clearly the best kind and at this time of year there’s always an excuse to make something tasty!

I do, however, feel a bit like I am running out of time to make all the festive bakes I want to try, christmas cake, mince pies, chocolate logs, I want to make them all! But sometimes I just don’t have the time, so this recipe for gingerbread smoothies is super quick, its as easy as it is delicious, plus they will still fill your kitchen with the aroma of christmas!

IMG_1065

Don’t get me wrong I am a big fan of christmas drinks, I am a better person with a coffee cup in hand, but unfortunately, what fills those cups is not the most healthy. There’s usually lots of cream involved, lots of chocolate, maybe a sprinkling of marshmallows…mmmm okay I need a Starbucks right now! I wanted to try and make a christmas drink that was equally tasty and festive, still feels like a treat but is maybe slightly better for me, and oddly enough actually contains vegetables! This smoothie has all the festive satisfaction of a gingerbread latte or a creamy hot chocolate but it contains one of your 5 a day, its gluten free and its vegan!

IMG_1034

Ingredients 

1 medium sweet potato (just try it, promise you won’t taste it!)
300ml of almond milk
1 or 2 tbsp of almond butter
Half a tsp of cinnamon (plus a bit extra for sprinkling)
Half a tsp of ginger
A generous pinch of nutmeg
2 dates


Pre-heat your oven to around 200°C/180°C fan/gas mark 6, wrap a sweet potato in some foil and pop it in the oven for around 45 minutes- just to the point when you can easily stick a knife through the middle. Wait until the potato has cooled, peel away the skin and chop it into small pieces. Then its just a case of putting all the ingredients in the blender and whizzing up until smooth. If this deliciously thick and spicy smoothie doesn’t satisfy your holiday hankering then I really don’t know what will…

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 12.27.22

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

